Press Releases

 

Follow Archbishop Robert J. Carlson on Facebook and Twitter for his latest statements.

Find joint statements and press releases from the bishops of Missouri on the Missouri Catholic Conference website.

 

November 2019

November 15, 2019 - Statement from Archbishop Robert J. Carlson Following the 2019 United States Conference of Catholic Bishops' Fall General Assembly

November 12, 2019 - "The Word Was Made Flesh and Dwelt Among Us": Archdiocese of St. Louis Offers Advent Faith-Formation Oportunity

October 2019

October 29, 2019 - Media Alert: Archbishop Robert J. Carlson to Offer Blessing for Border Mass Pilgrims

September 2019

September 13, 2019 - Statement from Archbishop Robert J. Carlson and the Archdiocese of St. Louis Regarding Missouri Attorney General Eric Schmitt’s Report on Clergy Abuse in the State of Missouri

September 10, 2019 - Archbishop Robert J. Carlson Urges Parishes to Participate in Weekend Mass Collections for Hurricane Dorian Relief Efforts

August 2019

August 5, 2019 - Archbishop Robert J. Carlson Offers Prayers, Support for Victims of Terror in El Paso, Texas and Dayton, Ohio

July 2019

July 26, 2019 - Archdiocese of St. Louis Releases List of Clergy with Substantiated Allegations of Sexual Abuse of a Minor

June 2019

June 29, 2019 - Archbishop Robert J. Carlson Has Submitted Letter of Retirement to Pope Francis 

May 2019

May 24, 2019 - Archbishop Robert J. Carlson Commends Governor Mike Parson for Signing the “Missouri Stands for the Unborn Act”

May 23, 2019 - Archbishop Robert J. Carlson Offers Prayers, Support for Storm Victims

May 17, 2019 - Archbishop Robert Carlson's Response to the Passage of House Bill 126: Missouri Stands for the Unborn 

May 9, 2019 - Archbishop Robert J. Carlson Statement on Pope Francis' New Mandate on Reporting Abuse

May 6, 2019 - Archdiocese of St. Louis Hires New High School Superintendent, Dr. Todd Sweda

April 2019

April 15, 2019 - Archbishop Robert J. Carlson Statement on Notre Dame Cathedral Fire, Update on Basilica of St. Louis, King of France (Old Cathedral)

 

 

Press Releases > ARCHBISHOP CARLSON INVITES ATTORNEY GENERAL TO CONDUCT INDEPENDENT REVIEW
ARCHBISHOP CARLSON INVITES ATTORNEY GENERAL TO CONDUCT INDEPENDENT REVIEW

ARCHBISHOP CARLSON INVITES ATTORNEY GENERAL TO CONDUCT INDEPENDENT REVIEW


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
August 23, 2018
Media Contact:
Gabe Jones
314.792.7557
gabejones@archstl.org

ST. LOUIS – Most Reverend Robert J. Carlson, Archbishop of St. Louis, announced today that he has invited the Missouri Attorney General to conduct a review of the Archdiocese of St. Louis with regard to clergy sexual abuse.

“The Archdiocese of St. Louis, during my episcopacy here, has always placed the protection of children and youth as one of our highest priorities,” Archbishop Carlson said. “To this end, we have always cooperated with law enforcement in any investigation into these matters and we will continue to do so. Last year, I instructed that a review of our safe environment protocols to protect children be undertaken by a former member of the FBI with experience in this area. She found our protocols to be appropriate and robust.

“As I have stated previously, today no clergy against whom a substantiated claim of abuse of a minor has been made have permission to conduct priestly ministry in the Archdiocese of St. Louis.”

The Archdiocese of St. Louis directs all persons with reports of abuse involving a member of the clergy or other church personnel to contact the Missouri Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline at 800.392.3738 and/or law enforcement officials. Concerns may also be directed to Sandra Price, Executive Director of the archdiocesan Office of Child and Youth Protection at 314.792.7271.
#CatholicSTL

Click here to download Archbishop Carlson's letter to Attorney General Josh Hawley

Click here for coverage in the St. Louis Review