6901 Mackenzie Road
St. Louis, MO 63123 314.792.7737
Resurrection is the site of the main office for the south county cemeteries. These cemeteries are: Resurrection, Sts. Peter and Paul, Mt. Olive, St. Peter, Holy Cross, St. Vincent & Ascension.
The Catholic Archdiocese of St. Louis established Resurrection Cemetery in October 1928, as New Sts. Peter and Paul Cemetery. The original Sts. Peter and Paul Cemetery that opened in 1864 on Gravois Road was full, and Archbishop John Glennon intended for the new cemetery to serve the many parishes without churchyards in south St. Louis city and county, as Calvary Cemetery served those north. The first burial took place on November 15, 1929.
In the mid to late 1940's the name of the cemetery was changed to Resurrection Cemetery.
The small chapels were constructed on the highest hill in the cemetery in 1974, with mosaic monuments terracing the hillside between them. This area is known as Section 43.
The cemetery boasts of four architectural mausoleums, the first constructed in 1980. Single crypt, tandem crypts and companion crypts are available, as are niches for the inurmment of cremated remains. Inscription fees are included in the purchase price.
There are lots for private family mausoleums and sarcophagi as well.
Traditional monument and lawn level marker lots are available throughout the cemetery. Lawn crypts, floral lawn crypts and shared family monument lots also add to the uniqueness of the cemetery, offering many different options for memorialization.